As Germany’s best-known expert on the Millennials (Generation Y (*1980-1995) and Generation Z (*1995-2010), Dr. Steffi Burkhart is invited to over 120 events each year to transmit critical impulses in 25 to 60 minute keynote addresses or 45 to 90 minute lectures, depending on requirements, be they for management conferences, congress events, anniversary celebrations, gala evenings, trade fair kick-offs, customer events or panel discussions.

ON THE PODIUM

PM-Days (2019)
Millennials, a scarce resource in the labour market

Night of the Graduates (2017)
Step boldly into the future

Microsoft Switzerland (2017)
Y-Mindset as the driver for an agile business

NZZ Real Estate Days (2017)
The Y-Mindset: The Way of Thinking and the Worldview of Generation Y

THEMES

Dr. Steffi Burkhart introduces six leading topics, which are strongly influencing the future of our working world, to the management floors of the German-speaking economy as well as political decision makers, in an entertaining, informative and convincing way. Several subjects can be combined in one lecture.

1. Demographic Change: Human Capital as the Resource of the Future

By 2030 there will be a 8-10 million gap in Germany’s labour force, or to put it another way: We’re heading for a time of full employment. Whereas in the past, the availability of capital, technology and resources such as oil and gas determined economic success, in the future, the lack of manpower will be the greatest obstacle to growth. Labour is going to become the missing raw material in the future. A lack of young talent is slowing down our companies in terms of performance, growth and sales. From a global perspective, by 2030 almost all developed economies will be experiencing the same problem – including France, the UK, Spain and Italy, countries which will still benefit from a labour surplus in 2020 and then we will all be sitting in the same boat. Companies will be competing for millennials worldwide. We are going to experience a global war for talents that already requires an urgent rethink within political and business circles. Motivated and talented employees will be the most important capital of an organisation and our country. A central question concerning the future for companies will be: How do 5 generations manage to achieve great things together in the workplace?

Demography | War for Talents | Changing Values | Talent Management | Employer Branding | Caring Company

2. Millennials: A new mindset as an important driver of the future

Although the baby boomer generation is the largest and most powerful in terms of purchasing power, the Millennials are the most influential partners in the digital age. They are the key generations to solve the world and economic problems that lie ahead. Not only because they have to somehow fill a gap of 1 million after the baby boomers retire but also their mindsets and skillsets will be the ones that will change the international economy in the long term. We all live in a V.U.C.A. reality (volatile, uncertain, complex, ambivalent) that is shaping our present time – accelerating this process, add in digitalization and artificial intelligence. They form a new world that cannot be explained by old textbook theories and the level of experience, in the way that many operate. When the rules of our world change, we need a new way of thinking, a new way of reacting. Millennials stand for a new way of reasoning. They have a digitally imprinted, networked and collaborative mindset, they live new, zigzag, work experiences and have the power to interpret the most important large scale technology of our time, the Internet.

Generation Y | Generation Z | V.U.C.A.-Reality | Digital experts | Think Tanks and World Views | Modern Curricula Vitae | Attraction & Bonding

3. Digital Transformation: Cultural Change and Digital Skills

The V.U.C.A. reality (volatile, uncertain, complex, ambivalent) in which we currently live coupled with a fast moving digitisation leads to new challenges for the economy. Companies are undergoing a massive cultural change on different levels: Technology (AI, IoT, robotics, automation, big data), structure (organisational design, work environment) and people (good leadership, empowerment of employees). We are experiencing shifts from hierarchies to networks, from profit to more purpose, from control to empowerment, from planning to more experimentation and from privacy to more transparency. What we need now, in the second stage of digitisation, are digital experts who are really familiar with the new technologies and are involved in changing the infrastructure of the Internet. These people are currently available in the labour market but not in sufficient numbers. Supply and demand are in imbalance. Tendency rising. This is due to the majority of my generation being only digital users. Although we can operate our smartphone, tablet, laptop, set up a WordPress website or digitalise our marketing, that’s all we can do. This means that not only is the pool of available labour shrinking, but also the percentage of highly qualified, motivated talent is decreasing as well.

Digitalisation | Cultural change | Digital users | Digital experts | Create Ups | Dual operating system | Empowerment | Experimental rooms | Leadership | Purpose

4. Skillset shift: How we should counteract the skill mismatch

The transitions in the world of work require new skills. According to the World Economic Forum, more than 60 percent of the jobs in which Generation Z will work in the future do not exist today. 1/3 of the skills we need today will be completely different in five years. In particular capabilities, long seen as a guarantee for the future, will steadily move away from the elbow mentality towards teamwork, creativity, social intelligence, self-competence and digital skills. Schools in their present form, which are based on the reward and punishment system, the performance comparison amongst each other and the subject-object relationship pattern, suppress the urgently needed development of people’s potential. We need to empower young people to work with and alongside machines, which in future will become increasingly intelligent and ever more networked, instead of believing they have to compete with them. Because we will definitely lose this contest – no shadow of a doubt. The success of tomorrow is the combination of artificial intelligence and human intelligence. It is our task to question our thought patterns, advice and the role of schools, colleges and universities to give (young) people the right set of skills for their future.

Skillset of tomorrow | Human intelligence | Artificial intelligence | Educational systems

5 Support The Girls: Why we need 100% of the talent pool

Still very much a current issue: The glass ceiling and the promotional prejudices for women. A female quota on the supervisory board helps little. And what use is it to us if we promote women to top positions and they then act like men? This has little to do with (thought) diversity. We can no longer afford to focus solely on the male 50% of our talent pool at management level. This is a flaw in the system that also leads to talented women, who want to make a career, being increasingly annoyed and frustrated. But one approach gives hope to the subject of gender equality in business, politics, science and the arts: behavioural economics. If our brains are “brainwashed” (think about stereotypes), we need other ways and means to make equal opportunities real. Iris Bohnet sums it up very succintly: “It’s not the women who have to change, it’s the rules of the game.”

Stereotypes | Gender Equality by Design | Behavioural Economics | Women’s Prejudices | Glass Ceilings |

6 The modern consumer: the transition to “An Experience” economy.

We find ourselves in a transition from a service economy to an experience economy. To bring about the best customer experience, and to place them at the centre of all activity, is the new challenge in dealing with and exchanging ideas with consumers. This is currently driving major brands to rethink their image in the marketplace and change staffing levels in their sales forces. On-demand, instant gratification, co-creation and wow moments on a frictionless customer journey are the expectations of the modern consumer. Whoever does not live up to this expectation, and still dreams of the old times, will disappear. Google Man Sascha Krause says it in one sentence: “Needs are bigger than brands.” By the way, this applies to all sectors – including the healthcare industry. Additionally, 80 percent of purchasing decisions in the premium segment are taken by women. This makes it all the more important to discern, and take seriously, women as a very relevant and rapidly growing target group within the consumer sector.

Experience Economy | Customer Journey | On-Demand | Friction Free Journey | Instant Gratification | She´s Mercedes

Referenz

Steffi embodies a mixture of vitality and knowledge on stage. She teases the mind and generates emotions.

THINKtank
Owner

CLIENTS

Deutsche Telekom Foundation – Fraport – Bosch – Daimler – She´s Mercedes – Kienbaum – Bristol Myers Squibb – Deutsche Bahn – Deutsche Bank – INQA – Hochbahn – Drees & Summer – Markant Group – Globus – Mercedes Benz – Monster – German Graduate School Heilbronn – Sparkassen – Institut der Deutschen Wirtschaft – ARD Theme Week Kick-Off Event – EHI Science Award Ceremony – Witzig Company – Europa-Park – Ogilvy – Dachdecker Verband Rheinland-Pfalz – Management – Executive -Akademie der Bundeswehr – EnBW – Vattenfall – Peter Lorange Institute – L´Oréal – Microsoft Switzerland – Ministry of Rural Areas and Consumer Protection Baden Württemberg – Handelsverband Bayern – MTU – Schindler Aufzüge – IHKs – City of Graz – SRH Holding – IBM – Initiative Chefsache – Milch & Sugar – Gerry Weber – Mission M – CDU Parliamentary Group BW – Demography Congress Saxony Anhalt – Adolf Würth – NZZ Real Estate Days – IAA – Night of the Graduates of the DHBW – Business Circle – GARANT Group – German Headmasters Congress – German Training Provider Congress – Caparol – Kerkhoff Group – GENNEX digital – Agritechnica etc……

Als Deutschlands bekannteste Expertin der Millennials (Generation Y (*1980–1995) und Generation Z (*1995–2010)) wird Dr. Steffi Burkhart pro Jahr zu über 120 Veranstaltungen eingeladen, um ganz nach Bedarf in 25 bis 60 minütigen Keynotes oder 45 bis 90 minütigen Fachvorträgen wichtige Impulse zu setzen. Ob bei Management-Tagungen, Kongress-Veranstaltungen, Jubiläumsfeiern, Gala Abenden, Messe-Kick-Offs, Kundenveranstaltungen oder Podiumsdiskussionen.

AUF DER BÜHNE

NZZ Real Estate Days (2017)
Der Y-Mindset: Denkart und Weltsicht der Generation Y

Night of the Graduates (2017)
Mutig in die Zukunft

Microsoft Schweiz (2017)
Y Mindset als Treiber für ein agiles Unternehmen

GEDANKENtanken (2016)
Erste Nürnberger Rednernacht

THEMEN

Sechs große Themen, die die Zukunft unserer Arbeitswelt stark beeinflussen, bringt Dr. Steffi Burkhart kurzweilig, informativ und überzeugend in die Management-Etagen der deutschsprachigen Wirtschaft und in die Entscheiderebene der Politik. Mehrere Themen können in einem Vortrag kombiniert werden.

1 Demographischer Wandel: Human Capital als Ressource der Zukunft

Bis 2030 klafft eine 8-10 Millionen Lücke an Arbeitskräften in Deutschland oder anders formuliert: Wir steuern auf eine Zeit der Vollbeschäftigung zu. Während früher die Verfügbarkeit von Kapital, Technologie und Ressourcen wie Öl und Gas über wirtschaftlichen Erfolg entschied, ist zukünftig der Mangel an Arbeitskraft die größte Wachstumshürde. Arbeitskraft wird zum mangelnden Rohstoff der Zukunft. Fehlender Nachwuchs bremst unsere Unternehmen in Performance, Wachstum und Umsatz aus. Global betrachtet haben ab 2030 fast alle das gleiche Problem – auch Frankreich, Großbritannien, Spanien oder Italien, die bis 2020 noch von einem Arbeitskräfteüberschuss profitieren, sitzen dann im gleichen Boot.  Unternehmen werden weltweit um Millennials konkurrieren. Wir werden einen globalen War for Talents erleben, der schon jetzt ganz dringend ein Umdenken in Politik und Wirtschaft voraussetzt. Motivierte und talentierte Mitarbeiter werden zum wichtigsten Kapital einer Organisation und unseres Landes. Eine zentrale Frage der Zukunft für Unternehmen wird sein: Wie gelingt es, dass 5 Generationen gemeinsam am Arbeitsplatz Großes schaffen?

Demographie | War for Talents | Wertewandel | Talent Management | Employer Branding | Caring Company

2 Millennials: Neuer Mindset als wichtiger Treiber der Zukunft

Obwohl die Babyboomer Generation die größte und kaufkraftstärkste darstellt, sind die Millennials die einflussreichsten Alterskohorten im digitalen Zeitalter. Sie sind die Schlüssel-Generationen, um die anstehenden Welt- und Wirtschaftsprobleme zu lösen. Nicht nur, weil sie eine Millionen-Lücke nach Renteneintritt der Babyboomer irgendwie füllen müssen. Sondern weil ihre Mind- und Skillsets diejenigen sein werden, die die Wirtschaft international nachhaltig verändern. Wir alle leben in einer V.U.K.A.-Realität (volatil, unsicher, komplex, ambivalent), die unsere Zeit prägt – als Brandbeschleuniger tritt die Digitalisierung und Künstliche Intelligenz hinzu. Sie bilden eine neue Welt, die sich mit alten Lehrbuchtheorien und dem Modus der Erfahrung, aus dem viele agieren, nicht erklären lässt. Wenn sich die Spielregeln unserer Welt verändern, brauchen wir ein neues Denken, ein neues Handeln. Millennials stehen für eine neue Denkweise. Sie haben ein digital geprägtes, vernetztes und kollaboratives Mindset, sie leben neue Zickzack-Lebensläufe und haben die Deutungshoheit über die wichtigste Massentechnologie unserer Zeit, das Internet.

Generation Y | Generation Z | V.U.K.A.-Realität | Digitale Könner | Denkart und Weltsicht | Moderne Lebensläufe | Gewinnung & Bindung

3 Digitale Transformation: Kulturwandel und Digitale Könner

Die V.U.K.A. Realität (volatil, unsicher, komplex, ambivalent), in der wir aktuell leben, und der Beschleuniger Digitalisierung führen zu neuen Herausforderungen für die Wirtschaft. Unternehmen durchleben einen massiven Kulturwandel auf den Ebenen: Technologie (KI, IoT, Robotik, Automatisierung, Big Data), Struktur (Organisationsdesign, Arbeitsumfeld) und Mensch (gute Führung, Empowerment der Mitarbeiter). Wir erleben Shifts von Hierarchien hin zu Netzwerken, von Profit hin zu mehr Purpose, von Kontrolle hin zu Empowerment, von Planung hin zu mehr Experimenten und von Privacy hin zu mehr Transparenz. Was wir nun, in der zweiten Stufe der Digitalisierung benötigen, sind Digitale Könner, die sich wirklich mit den neuen Technologien auskennen und die Infrastruktur des Internets mit verändern. Dieses Personal ist derzeit auf dem Arbeitsmarkt aber nicht in ausreichender Menge verfügbar. Angebot und Nachfrage stehen im Ungleichgewicht. Tendenz steigend. Denn die Mehrheit meiner Generation gehört nur zu digitalen Anwendern. Wir können zwar unser Smartphone, Tablet, Laptop bedienen, eine WordPress-Webseite aufbauen oder das Marketing digitalisieren – mehr aber auch nicht. Was heißt: Es schrumpft nicht nur allgemein der Pool an Arbeitskräften, sondern der Anteil hochqualifizierter, motivierter Talente wird sogar kleiner.

Digitalisierung | Kulturwandel | Digitale Anwender | Digitale Könner | Create Ups | Duales Betriebssystem | Empowerment | Experimentierräume | Leadership | Purpose

4 Skillset im Wandel: Wie wir dem Skill Mismatch entgegenwirken

Die Veränderungen in der Arbeitswelt setzen neue Skills voraus. Laut dem World Economic Forum existieren mehr als 60 Prozent der Jobs, in denen die Generation Z zukünftig arbeiten wird, heute noch nicht. 1/3 der Kompetenzen, die wir heute benötigen, werden in fünf Jahren ganz andere sein. Besonders zukunftssichere Kompetenzen gehen weg von der Ellbogenmentalität hin zu Teamwork, Kreativität, sozialer Intelligenz, Selbstkompetenz und digitalen Kompetenzen. Schulen in ihrer jetzigen Form, basierend auf dem Belohnungs- und Bestrafungssystem, dem Leistungsvergleich untereinander und dem Subjekt-Objekt-Beziehungsmuster, unterdrücken die dringende Potenzialentfaltung von Menschen. Wir müssen junge Menschen dazu befähigen, mit und neben Maschinen zu arbeiten, die immer intelligenter, immer stärker vernetzt sein werden, statt zu glauben, mit ihnen konkurrieren zu müssen. Denn diesen Konkurrenzkampf werden wir verlieren –definitiv. Der Erfolg von Morgen ist die Kombination aus Künstlicher Intelligenz und Menschlicher Intelligenz. Es ist unsere Aufgabe, unsere Denkmuster, Ratschläge und die Rolle von Schulen, Hochschulen und Universitäten zu hinterfragen, um (jungen) Menschen das richtige Skillset für ihre Zukunft mit auf den Weg zu geben.

Skillset von Morgen | Menschliche Intelligenz | Künstliche Intelligenz | Bildungssysteme

5 Support The Girls: Warum wir 100% des Talentpools brauchen

Ein immer noch aktuelles Thema: Die Gläserne Decke und der Beförderungsnachteil von Frauen. Eine Frauenquote im Aufsichtsrat hilft da wenig. Und was nützt es uns, wenn wir Frauen in Top-Positionen befördern und diese dann wie Männer agieren? Mit (Denk-)Diversität hat das wenig zu tun. Wir können es uns nicht mehr leisten, uns nur auf die männlichen 50 % unseres Talentpools in Führungsetagen zu fokussieren. Das ist ein Fehler im System, der auch dazu führt, dass talentierte Frauen, die Karriere machen wollen, zunehmend genervt und frustriert sind. Doch ein Ansatz macht Hoffnung beim Thema Gender Gleichstellung in Wirtschaft, Politik, Wissenschaft und in der Kunst: die Verhaltensökonomie. Wenn unsere Gehirne „gebrainwashed“ sind (in Stereotypen denken), brauchen wir andere Mittel und Wege, damit Chancengleichheit real wird. Iris Bohnet bringt es auf den Punkt: „Nicht die Frauen müssen sich ändern, sondern die Spielregeln.“

Stereotypen | Gender Equality by Design | Verhaltensökonomie | Beförderungsnachteil von Frauen | Gläserne Decke |

6 Der moderne Konsument: Der Wandel hin zur Erlebnis-Ökonomie 

Wir befinden uns im Übergang von der Dienstleistungs- zur Erlebnis-Ökonomie. Die beste Kundenerfahrung zu ermöglichen und den Kunden in den Mittelpunkt allen Handelns zu stellen, ist die neue Herausforderung im Umgang und Austausch mit ihm. Was derzeit auch große Marken dazu antreibt, den Markenauftritt und die Personalbesetzung im Verkauf zu verändern. On-Demand, Instant Gratification, Co-Creation und Wow-Momente in einer friktionsfreien Kundenreise sind die Erwartungshaltung des modernen Konsumenten. Wer diesem Anspruch nicht gerecht wird, sondern einer alten Zeit nachträumt, der verschwindet. Google-Mann Sascha Krause sagt es in einem Satz: „Needs are bigger than brands.“ Das gilt übrigens für alle Bereiche – auch in der Healthcare-Industrie. Hinzu kommt: 80 Prozent der Kaufentscheidungen im Premium Bereich werden von Frauen getroffen. Umso wichtiger ist es, die Zielgruppe der Frauen als stark wachsende und relevante Subgruppe im Konsumentenbereich wahr und ernst zu nehmen.

Erlebnis-Ökonomie | Costumer Journey | On-Demand | Friktionsfreie Journey | Instant Gratification | She´s Mercedes

Referenz

Steffi verkörpert eine Mischung aus Vitalität und Wissen auf der Bühne. Sie kitzelt den Verstand und schafft Emotionen.

GEDANKENtanken
Inhaber

KUNDEN

Fraport – Bosch – Daimler – She´s Mercedes – Kienbaum – Bristol Myers Squibb – Deutsche Bahn – Deutsche Bank – INQA – Hochbahn – Drees & Sommer – Markant Gruppe – Globus – Mercedes Benz – Monster – German Graduate School Heilbronn – Sparkassen – Institut der Deutschen Wirtschaft – ARD Themenwoche Auftaktveranstaltung – EHI Wissenschaftspreisverleihung – Witzig Company – Europa-Park – Ogilvy – Dachdecker Verband Rheinland-Pfalz – Führungskräfte-Akademie der Bundeswehr – EnBW – Vattenfall – Peter Lorange Institute – L´Oréal – Microsoft Schweiz – Ministerium für Ländlichen Raum und Verbraucherschutz Baden Württemberg – Handelsverband Bayern – MTU – Schindler Aufzüge – IHKs – Stadt Graz – SRH Holding –  IBM – Initiative Chefsache – Milch & Zucker – Gerry Weber – Mission M – CDU Landtagsfraktion BW – Demografie Kongress Sachsen Anhalt – Adolf Würth – NZZ Real Estate Days – IAA – Night of the Graduates der DHBW – Business Circle – GARANT Gruppe – Deutscher Schulleiter Kongress – Deutscher Ausbildungsleister Kongress – Caparol – Deutscher Ausbildungsleiter Kongress – Kerkhoff Group – GENNEX digital – Agritechnica u.v.m.